Third Neu-Whitrow Prize Awarded

On July 30, 2021, the third Neu-Whitrow Prize is awarded to Dániel Margócsy, Mark Somos and Stephen N. Joffe for The Fabrica of Andreas Vesalius, a printed bibliography of all the known surviving exemplars of the 1543 and 1555 editions of Andreas Vesalius’ De humani corporis fabrica, the two authorized editions of the foundational work […]

2021 Neu-Whitrow Prize Announced

The Neu-Whitrow Prize is awarded every four years to an individual or team for creating the most innovative research tool for managing, documenting and analyzing sources within the history of science and technology. The Prize is awarded by the Commission on Bibliography and Documentation (CBD) of the International Union of History and Philosophy of Science […]

Second Neu-Whitrow Prize Awarded

On July 26, 2017, the second Neu-Whitrow Prize was awarded to Prof. Dr. Klaus Hentschel and his Stuttgart Team for his online resource “Database of Scientific Illustrators 1450-1950.” The Neu-Whitrow prize is named for John Neu who edited the ISIS bibliography and continued the work of editing the ISIS Cumulative Bibliography of which Magda Whitrow […]

See all our news

About the Commission

The Commission on Bibliography and Documentation provides expertise on bibliographical, archival, and documentation matters for the International Union for the History and Philosophy of Science and Technology / Division of History of Science and Technology (IUHPST/DHST). It facilitates the important work of ensuring that historical data of the IUHPST/DHST is supported and developed. It works with IUHPST/DHST on archival and bibliographic projects around the globe.

Our Board